Helen Walker Society

“Helen Walker was chosen as the namesake for the ASA's first major donor club because she was a pioneer for the statistics profession. Like Helen, members of this society are leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to advancing statistics for the good of the profession and our society at large.”

Helen Walker Society membership is extended to supporters who make a minimum annual gift of $1,000.

By becoming a society member, you are making a significant investment in the future of our profession and the important work we do for many years to come.

We will work closely with you to determine your personal philanthropic goals and match them with opportunities at the ASA. We customize recognition and stewardship based on what is important to you and your family.

In addition, members will receive the following benefits:

  • Prominent recognition on a plaque located at the ASA headquarters

  • Annual invitation to an exclusive Helen Walker Society reception at the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM)

  • Welcome basket with registration packet personally delivered at JSM

  • Personal correspondence from the ASA executive director and president announcing new programs and initiatives

  • Recognition on the ASA website and in Amstat News

  • Customized recognition and stewardship opportunities

Donate Now

For more information about the Helen Walker Society and giving opportunities, please contact:

Amanda Malloy
Director of Development
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA 22314-1934


Helen M. Walker

About Helen M. Walker

Helen M. Walker contributed to the field of statistics through her work in education and educational research. She was a longtime faculty member at Columbia University Teachers College and a member of numerous professional organizations. In the 1940s, a time when hardly any women held prominent academic positions, she was a unique pioneer in gaining professional visibility for women. In 1944, she was elected the first woman president of the American Statistical Association.

In her presidential address at the 104th Annual Meeting of the American Statistical Association, Walker expressed her regard for statistical education as something of a “service to the welfare of society.” She said, “Even as the great scientists have exercised a stimulating and generating influence upon the scientific education of the non-scientist, it is time for the leading statisticians to put serious thought upon the statistical education of the non-statistician. … Ways must be found to make [the] general nature of statistical thinking better understood by the average intelligent citizen and particularly by persons in responsible positions—charged with policy formation.”

Ways must be found to make (the) general nature of statistical thinking better understood by the average intelligent citizen and particularly by persons in responsible positions–charged with policy information.

– Helen Walker

Helen Walker Society Members

  • John Abowd
  • Stan Altan
  • John Angle
  • Alfred Balch
  • David Banks
  • Christopher Barker
  • Ken Bjurstrom
  • Mary Ellen Bock
  • Donna J. Brogan
  • Patrick Cantwell
  • Constance Citro
  • John L. Czajka
  • Marie Davidian
  • Richard De Veaux
  • Jonas and Susan Ellenberg
  • Katherine B. Ensor
  • Scott Evans
  • Ronald and Barb Fecso
  • Justin Fisher
  • Christine Franklin
  • Turkan and John Gardenier
  • Martha Gardner
  • Eric Gibson
  • Richard Goldstein
  • Gerald Hahn
  • Susan Halabi
  • Susan Harris
  • Brian Harris-Kojetin
  • Allen Heller
  • Rebecca Hubbard
  • Fred and Karen Hulting
  • J. Stuart Hunter
  • Ronald Iman
  • Barry Johnson, Jr.
  • Lee D. Kaiser
  • Daniel Kasprzyk
  • Elizabeth Kelly and Robert Ryne
  • Arthur B. Kennickell
  • Thian Kheoh
  • Michael Kutner
  • Mary Kwasny
  • Donna E. LaLonde
  • Lisa LaVange
  • Albert Lee
  • John Stites and Cynthia Long
  • Juanita Tamayo Lott
  • W.Y. Wendy Lou
  • Wendy Martinez
  • Robert L. Mason
  • Joseph Massaro
  • Madhu Mazumdar
  • Laura Meyerson
  • Katherine Monti
  • David Morganstein
  • Kurt P. Kearcher and Sally C. Morton
  • Jeri Metzger Mulrow
  • Ed Mulrow
  • Bengt Muthen
  • Steven Nachtwey
  • S. Edward and Anna Nevius
  • Barry Nussbaum
  • Robert T. O'Neill
  • Van L. Parsons
  • Dionne Price
  • Paula Roberson
  • Frank W. Rockhold
  • James and Gloria Rosenberger
  • John Sall
  • Robert Santos
  • Jaya M. Satagopan
  • Fritz and Elizabeth Scheuren
  • Jack Schuenemeyer
  • David W. Scott
  • Venkat Sethuraman
  • Larry Shen
  • Dolores S. Smith
  • William and Patricia Smith
  • Steven Snapinn
  • Theresa Utlaut
  • Jessica Utts
  • David Van Dyk
  • Sean Walker
  • Ron and Sherry Wasserstein
  • Hadley Wickham
  • Marilyn Vogel and Leland Wilkinson
  • Linda J. Young
  • Bing Zhang
  • Sarah and Richard Zink
  • And three anonymous donors

The ASA is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation. Contributions made to the ASA are tax deductible. Please contact us for more information about giving to the ASA.

Amanda Malloy
Director of Development
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
(703) 684-1221
EIN: 53-0204661