Committee Details

Professional Issues & Visibility Council


The Professional Issues & Visibility Council is composed of the ASA committees which increase visibility and support for the statistics profession and promote the use of statistics in other fields. The Council provides a means for coordination among these committees and a connection between each committee and the Board through the Council chair.

An important distinction between this Council and the Council for Membership is that the latter deals with internally facing issues, whereas the former deals with externally facing issues.

Composition: The membership of the Professional Issues & Visibility Council consists of one of the Vice Presidents of the ASA, who serves as the Chair, a Vice Chair appointed/reappointed (when necessary) by the President Elect for a three year term and the Chairs of the following ASA Committees; Advisory Committee on Forensic Science, ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy, ASA LGBT Concerns Committee, Committee on Energy Statistics, Committee on Funded Research, Committee on Law and Justice Statistics, Committee on Privacy and Confidentiality, Committee on Professional Ethics, Committee of Representatives to AAAS, Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights, Conference on Statistical Practice Steering Committee, External Nominations and Awards Committee, Scientific and Public Affairs Advisory Committee, and Statistics Without Borders.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Dionne L. Price


The Professional Issues & Visibility Council has 15 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Price, Dionne L.
Chair (2020 - 2021)
Marker, David A.
Professional Issues & Visibility CC Vice Chair (2019 - 2021)
Batcher, Mary K.
Member (2021 - 2022)
Batcher, Mary K.
Member (2021 - 2021)
Cao, Jing
Member (2021 - 2021)
Corliss, David J.
Member (2021 - 2022)
Cuellar, Maria
Member (2021 - 2021)
Durgana, Davina
Member (2021 - 2023)
Goldberg, Miriam Lynne
Member (2021 - 2021)
Hammerling, Dorit
Member (2019 - 2021)
Hedges, Larry V.
Member (2018 - 2021)
Poston, Dudley L.
Member (2021 - 2021)
Vilhuber, Lars
Member (2021 - 2021)
Waller, Lance A.
Member (2021 - 2021)
You, Jiashen
Member (2021 - 2021)

LaLonde, Donna

Staff Liaison (2015 - 2025)

Pierson, Steve

Staff Liaison (2019 - 2024)

Wasserstein, Ronald L.

Staff Liaison (2011 - 2025)

Return to List of Committees.