Committee Details

Best JSE Paper Award Committee

Visit the Best JSE Paper Award Committee home page


This award is given annually to the best paper among all those appearing in the Journal of Statistics Education (JSE) in a given year as determined by a committee. Individuals eligible for the award (that is, anyone published in JSE in the year being evaluated) will not serve on the committee.

The award is announced each year in the spring, and listed in the JSM Awards Ceremony Program but not announced or presented during the ceremony.

The award consists of a certificate and a cash prize of $1500 (to be divided equally if the best paper has multiple authors). The funding for the award comes from a current gift from William I. Notz.

Each year the award is given in someone’s honor. That is, the announcement will be of the form "The (year N) Best JSE Paper Award is given this year in honor of (name) for her/his contributions to Statistics Education. The award this year goes to... " This way, each year the award honors two people, though the first one does not have to have been a contributor to JSE. The committee determining the award winner in year N will also select the person in whose name the award is given.

Composition: The Best JSE Paper Award Committee consists of 6 members, two of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One of the members is also appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as the Chair.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Michelle Gaddy Everson


The Best JSE Paper Award Committee has 5 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Everson, Michelle Gaddy
Ohio State University
415 Cockins Hall
1958 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH   43210
United States
Phone: (614) 292-3593
Chair (2018 - 2019)
Blankenship, Erin
University of Nebraska
340 Hardin Hall
North Wing
Lincoln, NE   68583-0963
United States
Phone: (402) 472-7398
Fax: (402) 472-5179
Member (2017 - 2019)
Everson, Michelle Gaddy
Ohio State University
415 Cockins Hall
1958 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH   43210
United States
Phone: (614) 292-3593
Member (2014 - 2019)
Kim, Soeun
LA, CA   92805
Member (2018 - 2020)
Lane-Getaz, Sharon J.
St. Olaf College
1520 St Olaf Ave.
Northfield, MN   55057
United States
Phone: (507) 786-3411
Member (2018 - 2020)
Seastrom, Marilyn M.
NCES/U.S. Department of Education
550 12th Street SW
Rm. 6043
Washington, DC   20202
United States
Phone: (202) 245-7766
Member (2019 - 2021)

LaVange, Lisa M.
Department of Biostatistics, UNC-CH
123 West Franklin St.
Suite 450
Chapel Hill, NC   27514
United States
Phone: (919) 962-2190

Awards Council Liaison
2019 - 2019
ASA Past President

Price, Karen L.
105 Paloma Point
Georgetown, TX   78628-6917
United States
Phone: (317) 651-2132

Awards Council Liaison
2018 - 2020
Awards Council Vice Chair

Henry, Elizabeth
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St.
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221

Staff Liaison
2018 - 2021

Return to List of Committees.