Committee Details

Scientific and Public Affairs Advisory Committee

Visit the Scientific and Public Affairs Advisory Committee home page.


Monitor public policy discussions to identify issues (1) that affect the statistical and scientific communities and/or (2) to which statisticians can contribute. Recommend to the ASA Board of Directors and the ASA Director of Science Policy issues for the ASA to consider, and propose how to address both the message and strategy. Encourage the ASA community to engage in policy issues, including (i) suggesting issues to address; (ii) contributing to ASA responses; and (iii) sharing ASA perspectives or actions to like-minded networks; and serve as a liaison between ASA and other statistical experts, professional and governmental organizations, and the media on these issues.


The Committee consists of nine members, three of whom are appointed /reappointed each year by the President Elect for three-year terms. One member will be appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as Chair. The members should represent an array of ASA professional interests.

Questions? Want to get involved? Need a committee roster? Contact Elizabeth Henry

To change the viewing year, choose from the following:   



Nagaraja, Chaitra
Chair (2023 - 2023)
Shipp, Stephanie
Professional Issues & Visibility CC Vice Chair (2022 - 2024)
Cappelleri, Joseph
Member (2018 - 2023)
Gascon, Gregg
Member (2022 - 2024)
Lee, Julia
Member (2023 - 2025)
Lum, Kristian
Member (2021 - 2023)
Nagaraja, Chaitra
Member (2020 - 2025)
Paul, Sudeshna
Member (2022 - 2024)
Ravula, Sridhar
Member (2022 - 2024)
Roy, Dooti
Member (2023 - 2025)
Wallman, Katherine
Member (2018 - 2023)
Pierson, Steve
Staff Liaison (2010 - 2025)