Committee Details

Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights


The Committee concerns itself with violations of and threats to the scientific freedom and human rights of statisticians and other scientists throughout the world. The Committee also assists scientific societies or other responsible organizations on statistical questions relating to data on human rights or the use of data to limit human rights.

Composition: The committee is composed of nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One member is appointed by the President Elect (when necessary) to serve as the Chair.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Robin Mejia


The Committee on Scientific Freedom and Human Rights has 10 member(s), and 2 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Mejia, Robin
Chair (2021 - 2021)
Marker, David A.
Professional Issues & Visibility CC Vice Chair (2019 - 2021)
Canchola, Jesse Albert
Member (2020 - 2022)
Cochran, James J.
Member (2016 - 2021)
Gargiulo, Maria
Member (2021 - 2023)
Hoehner, Jessica
Member (2020 - 2022)
Hubbard, Rebecca A.
Member (2020 - 2022)
Mauro, Jacqueline Angela
Member (2021 - 2023)
Mejia, Robin
Member (2016 - 2021)
Yang, Michael Yonghe
Member (2020 - 2022)

Price, Dionne L.

Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison (2020 - 2021)

Pierson, Steve

Staff Liaison (2011 - 2023)

Return to List of Committees.