Committee Details

Committee of Representatives to AAAS


To promote, develop, and recommend cosponsoring programs and participation in American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) activities that are consistent with ASA objectives; and to promote and develop ASA programs that strengthen the role of statisticians in scientific research and the development of scientific policy. To encourage ASA members to join AAAS and participate in AAAS activities.


The Committee consists of eight ASA representatives to the sections of the AAAS that deal with statistical matters. (Section G, Biological Sciences; Section K, Social, Economic & Political Sciences; Section L, History & Philosophy of Science; Section N, Medicine; Section P, Industrial Science & Technology; Section Q, Education; Section T, Information, Computing & Communications; Section U, Statistics). Committee membership carries a responsibility to attend meetings of ASA and AAAS and to maintain membership in AAAS while serving on the Committee. The representatives are appointed by the President Elect of ASA and serve concurrent terms of three years each in accordance with the rotation of representatives established by AAAS. One of the representatives is appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as the Chair

Questions? Want to get involved? Need a committee roster? Contact Elizabeth Henry

To change the viewing year, choose from the following:   



Poston, Dudley
Chair (2020 - 2024)
Shipp, Stephanie
Professional Issues & Visibility CC Vice Chair (2022 - 2024)
Bandyopadhyay, Dipankar
Member (2020 - 2024)
Howard, James
Member (2020 - 2024)
Liu, Lei
Member (2017 - 2024)
Mori, Motomi
Member (2017 - 2024)
Tan, Charles
Member (2017 - 2024)
Zheng, Tian
Member (2020 - 2024)
Ziliak, Stephen
Member (2017 - 2024)
Pierson, Steve
Staff Liaison (2012 - 2023)