Committee Details

Committee on Professional Ethics

Visit the Committee on Professional Ethics home page


  • To provide a point of contact with other societies and associations in the area of professional ethics.
  • To develop and implement a program of education sensitizing members of ASA to the ethical issues in statistical practice and in other fields in which statistics is used.
  • To maintain and promulgate, subject to Board review and approval, the set of ASA Ethical Guidelines that describes the general view of ethics in statistical practice, and develop and maintain supplements to the Ethical Guidelines for areas of application that give an understanding of ethical statistical practice as it applies to that area (e.g., law or medicine).
  • The Committee does not have the authority to act on, rule on, or arbitrate ethical matters.
  • Execution of a program of professional certification is not included in this charge.
  • Composition: The Committee consists of nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed by the President Elect each year for three year terms. One member is also appointed by the President Elect (when necessary) to serve as the Chair.

    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Jing Cao


    The Committee on Professional Ethics has 10 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



    Cao, Jing
    Chair (2021 - 2022)
    Marker, David A.
    Professional Issues & Visibility CC Vice Chair (2019 - 2021)
    Cao, Jing
    Member (2019 - 2024)
    Gillikin, Jason E.
    Member (2020 - 2022)
    Gomes, Harold L.
    Member (2017 - 2022)
    Gunaratna, Nilupa S.
    Member (2021 - 2023)
    Hartley, Andrew M.
    Member (2020 - 2024)
    Levenstein, Marcia J.
    Member (2016 - 2021)
    Rotelli, Matthew D.
    Member (2020 - 2023)
    Shipp, Stephanie S.
    Member (2021 - 2023)
    Young, Millennia
    Member (2020 - 2022)

    Price, Dionne L.

    Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison (2020 - 2021)

    LaLonde, Donna

    Staff Liaison (2019 - 2030)

    Wasserstein, Ronald L.

    Staff Liaison (2009 - 2023)

    Return to List of Committees.