Committee Details

Committee on Privacy and Confidentiality

Visit the Committee on Privacy and Confidentiality home page


  • To keep track of privacy and confidentiality policy and legal developments (including guidelines, legislation, laws, regulations), technical developments (data, statistical, and computational techniques), and their interrelation;
  • To serve as a focal point within ASA for contact with other communities on matters related to privacy and confidentiality; and
  • To communicate and educate the statistical community on the legal environment and technical developments related to privacy and confidentiality
  • Composition: The committee is composed of nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three-year terms. One member is also appointed by the President Elect (when necessary) to serve as the Chair. At least one member should represent views of government statisticians and units. International representation on the Committee is encouraged.

    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Saki Kinney


    The Committee on Privacy and Confidentiality has 9 member(s), and 1 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



    Kinney, Saki
    Chair (2022 - 2022)
    Ohara, Amy
    Vice-Chair (2022 - 2022)
    Shipp, Stephanie S.
    Professional Issues & Visibility CC Vice Chair (2022 - 2024)
    Bowen, Claire McKay
    Member (2022 - 2024)
    Chen, Yong
    Member (2021 - 2023)
    Kinney, Saki
    Member (2020 - 2022)
    Kreuter, Frauke
    Member (2020 - 2022)
    Liu, Fang
    Member (2018 - 2023)
    Ohara, Amy
    Member (2021 - 2023)
    Potok, Nancy
    Member (2021 - 2022)
    Snoke, Joshua V.
    Member (2018 - 2024)

    Pierson, Steve

    Staff Liaison (2013 - 2023)

    Return to List of Committees.