Committee Details

ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics


  • To stimulate effective change in undergraduate statistical education, especially in the majority of institutions where the department of mathematics bears primary responsibility for the teaching of statistics. The Committee should examine and make recommendations concerning:
  • Individual course offerings
  • Teaching practices
  • Faculty qualifications
  • Course sequences in support of various options
  • Use of technology in undergraduate statistics courses
  • Connections with other departments that use or teach statistics
  • Statistics requirements for undergraduate majors
  • Statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers
  • Impact on undergraduate curricula of improvements in pre-college statistical education
  • Composition: The Committee is composed of 6 members, three to be appointed by the ASA and three to be appointed by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Two members will be appointed/reappointed by each organization each year for three year terms. The Chair is a member of the Committee and serves for two years. The Chair is alternately appointed by the ASA and MAA.

    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Judith E. Canner


    The ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics has 11 member(s), and 5 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



    Canner, Judith E.
    Chair (2019 - 2020)
    Canner, Judith E.
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
    Cannon, Ann R.
    ASA Member (2020 - 2022)
    Cuff, Carolyn K.
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
    Frazier, Marian L.
    ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
    Knudson, Christina
    MAA Member (2019 - 2022)
    Lock Morgan, Kari
    ASA Member (2016 - 2021)
    Lock, Patti Frazer
    ASA Member (2016 - 2021)
    Malone, Christopher J.
    ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
    Mazur, Kristen
    MAA Member (2018 - 2021)
    Simpson, Felicia Renaye
    ASA Member (2020 - 2022)

    Burn, Helen

    MAA CUPM Liaison (2019 - 2021)

    De Veaux, Richard D.

    Education Council Liaison (2019 - 2021)
    ASA Vice President

    Perrett, Jamis

    Education Council Liaison (2019 - 2020)
    Education Council Vice Chair

    LaLonde, Donna

    Staff Liaison (2018 - 2020)

    Nichols, Rebecca

    Staff Liaison (2011 - 2020)

    Return to List of Committees.