Committee Details

ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics

Charge:

  • To stimulate effective change in undergraduate statistical education, especially in the majority of institutions where the department of mathematics bears primary responsibility for the teaching of statistics. The Committee should examine and make recommendations concerning:
  • Individual course offerings
  • Teaching practices
  • Faculty qualifications
  • Course sequences in support of various options
  • Use of technology in undergraduate statistics courses
  • Connections with other departments that use or teach statistics
  • Statistics requirements for undergraduate majors
  • Statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers
  • Impact on undergraduate curricula of improvements in pre-college statistical education
  • Composition: The Committee is composed of 12 members, six to be appointed by the ASA and six to be appointed by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Two members will be appointed/reappointed by each organization each year for three year terms. The Chair is a member of the Committee and serves for two years. The Chair is alternately appointed by the ASA and MAA.


    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Judith E. Canner

    Membership

    The ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics has 12 member(s), and 4 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


    Name

    Position/Term

     
    Canner, Judith E.
    Chair (2019 - 2020)
     
    Bates, Rachel
    Redlands Community College
    1300 South Country Club Rd
    El Reno, OK   73036-5304
    United States
    Phone: (405) 422-1244
    rachel.bates@redlandscc.edu
    MAA Member (2017 - 2019)
     
    Bray, Andrew Paul
    Reed College
    3203 SE Woodstock Blvd.
    Portland, OR   97202
    United States
    Phone: (760) 519-5979
    abray@reed.edu
    ASA Member (2017 - 2019)
     
    Canner, Judith E.
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Cuff, Carolyn K.
    Westminster College
    Hoyt Science Center
    New Wilmington, PA   16172-0001
    United States
    Phone: (724) 946-7291
    Fax: (724) 946-7158
    ccuff@westminster.edu
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Frazier, Marian L.
    College of Wooster
    Department of Math and CS
    Wooster, OH   44691
    mafrazier@wooster.edu
    ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Knudson, Christina
    University of St Thomas
    2115 Summit Ave
    OSS 201
    St. Paul, MN   55105
    United States
    knud8583@stthomas.edu
    MAA Member (2019 - 2022)
     
    Lock Morgan, Kari
    Penn State University
    325 Thomas
    University Park, PA   16802
    United States
    Phone: (814) 865-3134
    Fax: (919) 684-8594
    klm47@psu.edu
    ASA Member (2016 - 2021)
     
    Lock, Patti Frazer
    St. Lawrence University
    P.O. Box 85
    24 Coney Island Drive
    Hannawa Falls, NY   13647
    United States
    Phone: (315) 229-5292
    Fax: (315) 229-7413
    plock@stlawu.edu
    ASA Member (2016 - 2021)
     
    Lunsford, M. Leigh
    lunsfordml@longwood.edu
    MAA Member (2019 - 2021)
     
    Malone, Christopher J.
    Winona State University
    Gild 322
    P.O. Box 5838
    Winona, MN   55987
    United States
    Phone: (507) 457-2989
    Fax: (507) 457-5376
    cmalone@winona.edu
    ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Mazur, Kristen
    Elon University
    ,   
    kmazur@elon.edu
    MAA Member (2018 - 2021)
     
    Woodard, Roger D.
    University of Notre Dame
    153 Hurley Hall
    Notre Dame, IN   46556-5629
    United States
    Phone: (919) 924-6398
    roger_woodard@nd.edu
    ASA Member (2019 - 2019)
     

    De Veaux, Richard D.
    Williams College
    Department of Math & Stats.
    Williamstown, MA   01267
    United States
    Phone: (413) 458-9692
    deveaux@williams.edu

    Education Council Liaison
    2019 - 2021
    ASA Vice President
     

    Perrett, Jamis
    Bayer U.S.- Crop Science
    700 Chesterfield Parkway West
    Chesterfield, MO   63017
    United States
    Phone: (314) 527-9403
    jamis.perrett@bayer.com

    Education Council Liaison
    2019 - 2020
    Education Council Vice Chair
     

    LaLonde, Donna
    American Statistical Association
    732 North Washington St
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221
    donnal@amstat.org

    Staff Liaison
    2018 - 2020
     

    Nichols, Rebecca
    American Statistical Association
    732 North Washington St
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221
    rebecca@amstat.org

    Staff Liaison
    2011 - 2020
     
     

    Return to List of Committees.