Committee Details

Mentoring Award Committee

Visit the Mentoring Award Committee home page


The ASA Mentoring Award is given each year to a member who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in developing the careers of statistics students, statisticians or statistical researchers early in their careers. The award honors those people recognized by their colleagues for their sustained efforts over a long period of time supporting the work and developing the careers of statisticians. The winner will be designated by the committee. The ASA and the mentoring award committee will strive for a diverse applicant pool that will ensure over time that the award recognizes work from all three sectors.

Composition: The committee will consist of seven members: a chair, who will be the ASA past president whose term coincides with the award year, and six members, with two members representing each of the three broad employment sectors (academe, industry, government). Two of the members will be appointed/reappointed each year by the ASA President Elect for three year terms.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Lisa M. LaVange, PhD


The Mentoring Award Committee has 6 member(s), and 2 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



LaVange, Lisa M.
Department of Biostatistics, UNC-CH
123 West Franklin St.
Suite 450
Chapel Hill, NC   27514
United States
Phone: (919) 962-2190
Chair (2019 - 2019)
Lin, Lillian S.
Box 5216
Bozeman, MT   59717-5216
United States
Member (2015 - 2020)
Ma, Yan
Member (2019 - 2021)
Morganstein, David R.
1600 Research Blvd.
MS RE 492
Rockville, MD   20850-3195
United States
Phone: (301) 251-8215
Fax: (301) 294-2034
Member (2018 - 2019)
Moriarity, Chris
200 Spring Ave.
Takoma Park, MD   20912-4806
United States
Member (2019 - 2021)
Roberson, Paula K.
Univ. of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
4301 West Markham Slot 781
Little Rock, AR   72205
United States
Phone: (501) 526-6726
Fax: (501) 526-6729
Member (2015 - 2020)

Price, Karen L.
105 Paloma Point
Georgetown, TX   78628-6917
United States
Phone: (317) 651-2132

Awards Council Liaison
2018 - 2020
Awards Council Vice Chair

Henry, Elizabeth
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St.
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221

Staff Liaison
2018 - 2020

Return to List of Committees.