Committee Details

Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Data Science


Advise the ASA Board on steps the association should take to realize its goal of being a home for data science and data scientists. Such advice could include but is not limited to suggesting changes in the organizational structure, strategic plan, and specific activities of the association..

Composition: The committee will be chaired by a member of the Board of Directors, to be selected by the ASA President. In addition, seven to 10 additional members of the committee will be selected by the chair of the committee in collaboration with the three ASA presidents and appropriate staff. The committee should be broadly representative of the statistical community in demographics, geography, employment sectors, field, and focus (research, application, education). If possible, at least one member should be affiliated with IEEE and ACM. (This can be the same individual.) At least one committee member should be actively involved in data science education.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact


The Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Data Science has 13 member(s), and 0 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Ensor, Katherine B.
Rice University
Dept. of Statistics
6100 Main St., MS 138
Houston, TX   77251-1827
United States
Phone: (713) 348-4687
Fax: (713) 348 -5476
Co-Chair (2019 - 2021)
Glickman, Mark
Harvard University
Department of Statistics
1 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA   02138
United States
Phone: (617) 496-1505
Fax: (617) 496-8057
Co-Chair (2019 - 2021)
Baumer, Benjamin Strong
Smith College
48 Lexington Ave.
Florence, MA   01062-2712
United States
Phone: (413) 585-3440
Member (2019 - 2021)
Cetinkaya-Rundel, Mine
University of Edinburgh + RStudio
James Clerk Maxwell Building-Room 2257
Peter Guthrie Tait Road
Edinburgh,    EH9 3FD
United Kingdom
Member (2019 - 2021)
Grolemund, Garrett
3041 Saint Croix Drive
Clearwater, FL   33759-2121
United States
Phone: (352) 617-4693
Member (2019 - 2021)
Holm, Jeanne
Information Technology Agency
City Hall East
200 North Main Street, Room 1400
Los Angeles, CA   90012
United States
Member (2019 - 2021)
Lavista, Juan Miguel
8221 NE 115th Way
Kirkland, WA   98034
Member (2019 - 2021)
Witten, Daniela M.
University of Washington
Dept of Statistics
Box 354322
Seattle, WA   98195-4322
United States
Phone: (650) 248-6323
Member (2019 - 2021)
Zhang, Hao Helen
University of Arizona
Dept. of Mathematics
617 N. Santa Rita Avenue
Tucson, AZ   85721-0089
United States
Phone: (520)-621-6868
Fax: (919) 515-1169
Member (2019 - 2021)

Return to List of Committees.