Committee Details

Awards Council


The Awards Council is responsible for the Association’s portfolio of awards, making recommendations to the Board on all matters relative to awards and awards policy, including consideration of new awards and the consolidation or elimination of awards. The Council provides a means for coordination among these committees and a connection between each committee and the Board through the Council chair.

Composition: The membership of the Awards Council consists of the Past President of the ASA, who serves as the Chair, a Vice Chair appointed/reappointed (when necessary) by the President Elect for a three year term and the Chairs of the following ASA Committees; the Best JSE Paper Award Committee; the Committee on Award of Outstanding Statistical Application; the COWIS-Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship Subcommittee; the Deming Lectureship Committee; the Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Committee; the Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award; the Founders Award Committee; the Harry V. Roberts Advocate of the Year Award Committee; Karl E. Peace Award for Outstanding Statistical Contributions for the Betterment of Society Committee; Lester R. Curtin Award Committee; Lingzi Lu Award Committee; Mentoring Award Committee; Monroe G. Sirken Award Committee; the Noether Awards Committee; The Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Medal Committee; W. J. Dixon Award Committee; W. J. Youden Award in Interlaboratory Testing and the Waller Education Award Committee; Monroe G. Sirken Award Committee; Committee on Award of Outstanding Statistical Application.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Jessica M. Utts


The Awards Council has 13 member(s), and 1 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Utts, Jessica M.
University of California
Department of Statistics
Donald Bren Hall
Irvine, CA   92697-1250
United States
Phone: (949) 824-0649
Fax: (949) 824-9863
Chair (2017 - 2017)
ASA Past President
Lazar, Nicole
University of Georgia
Department of Statistics
Athens, GA   30602
United States
Phone: (706) 542-0632
Awards CC Vice Chair (2012 - 2017)
Albert, Paul S.
National Cancer Institute
Div of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics
9609 Medical Center Drive
Bethesda, MD   20892
United States
Phone: (301) 496-5582
Fax: (301) 402-2084
Member (2016 - 2018)
Chair, Peace Award Committee
Czajka, John L.
Mathematica Policy Research
1100 First Street, N.E.
12th Floor
Washington, DC   20002-4221
United States
Phone: (202) 484-4685
Fax: (202) 863-1763
Member (2015 - 2019)
Chair, Monroe G. Sirken Award Committee
Hartlaub, Bradley A.
Kenyon College
Department of Mathematics
201 N. College Rd.
Gambier, OH   43022
United States
Phone: (740) 427-5405
Fax: (740) 427-5573
Member (2014 - 2018)
Chair, Waller Education Award Committee
Hoerl, Roger W.
Union College
2195 Foxhill Dr.
Niskayuna, NY   12309
United States
Phone: (518) 46-2281
Member (2017 - 2019)
Chair, Deming Lectureship Committee
Holcomb, John P.
Cleveland State University
COSHP Dean's Office SR 353
2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH   44115-2214
United States
Phone: (216) 875-9832
Fax: (216) 687-5549
Member (2014 - 2017)
Chair, Best JSE Paper Award Committee
Marzjarani, Morteza
Member (2012 - 2017)
Chair, Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award Committee
Mukhopadhyay, Pushpal
Raleigh, NC   27610
Member (2016 - 2017)
Chair, Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Committee
Pena, Edsel A.
University of South Carolina
Department of Statistics
LeConte College
Columbia, SC   29208
United States
Phone: (803) 576-5813
Fax: (803) 777-4048
Member (2016 - 2017)
Chair, Noether Awards Committee
Toman, Blaza
100 Bureau Drive
Gaithersburg, MD   20899-8980
United States
Phone: (301) 975-4516
Fax: (301) 990-4127
Member (2015 - 2017)
Chair, W. J. Youden Award in Interlaboratory Testing Committee
Tzeng, Jung-Ying
North Carolina State University
Department of Statistics
Campus Box 7566
Raleigh, NC   27695-0001
United States
Phone: (919) 513-2723
Fax: (919) 515-7315
Member (2017 - 2019)
Chair, Committee on Award of Outstanding Statistical Application
Vander Ploeg, John
Leo Burnett Company
2263 Tremont Ave.
Aurora, IL   60502-9003
United States
Phone: (312) 220-1739
Member (2017 - 2017)
Chair, Harry V. Roberts Statistical Advocate of the Year Award Committee

Ntiranyuhura, Thierryne
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221

Staff Liaison
2016 - 2020

Return to List of Committees.