Committee Details

Best JSE Paper Award Committee

Visit the Best JSE Paper Award Committee home page

Charge:

This award is given annually to the best paper among all those appearing in the Journal of Statistics Education (JSE) in a given year as determined by a committee. Individuals eligible for the award (that is, anyone published in JSE in the year being evaluated) will not serve on the committee.

The award is announced each year in the spring, and listed in the JSM Awards Ceremony Program but not announced or presented during the ceremony.

The award consists of a certificate and a cash prize of $1500 (to be divided equally if the best paper has multiple authors). The funding for the award comes from a current gift from William I. Notz.

Each year the award is given in someone’s honor. That is, the announcement will be of the form "The (year N) Best JSE Paper Award is given this year in honor of (name) for her/his contributions to Statistics Education. The award this year goes to... " This way, each year the award honors two people, though the first one does not have to have been a contributor to JSE. The committee determining the award winner in year N will also select the person in whose name the award is given.

Composition: The Best JSE Paper Award Committee consists of 6 members, two of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One of the members is also appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as the Chair.


Questions? Want to get involved? Contact John P. Holcomb, Jr.

Membership

The Best JSE Paper Award Committee has 6 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

 
Holcomb, John P.
Cleveland State University
COSHP Dean's Office SR 353
2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH   44115-2214
United States
Phone: (216) 875-9832
Fax: (216) 687-5549
j.p.holcomb@csuohio.edu
Chair (2014 - 2017)
 
Blankenship, Erin
University of Nebraska
340 Hardin Hall, North Wing
Lincoln, NE   68583-0963
United States
Phone: (402) 472-7398
Fax: (402) 472-5179
erin.blankenship@unl.edu
Member (2017 - 2019)
 
Chance, Beth L.
California Polytechnic State University
Dept. of Statistics
1 Grand Avenue
San Luis Obispo, CA   93407-0405
United States
Phone: (805) 756-2961
Fax: (805) 756-2700
bchance@calpoly.edu
Member (2011 - 2017)
 
Everson, Michelle Gaddy
Ohio State University
415 Cockins Hall
1958 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH   43210
United States
Phone: (614) 292-3593
everson.50@osu.edu
Member (2014 - 2019)
 
Hooks, Tisha L.
8850 Rollin Sunset Drive
Winona, MN   55987
Phone: (507) 458-2758
THooks@winona.edu
Member (2013 - 2018)
 
Tintle, Nathan
Dordt College
1606 4th Ave., S.E.
Sioux Center, IA   51250
United States
Phone: (712) 722-6264
nathan.tintle@dordt.edu
Member (2016 - 2018)
 

Lazar, Nicole
University of Georgia
Department of Statistics
Athens, GA   30602
United States
Phone: (706) 542-0632
nlazar@stat.uga.edu

Awards Council Liaison
2012 - 2017
Awards Council Vice Chair
 

Utts, Jessica M.
University of California
Department of Statistics
Donald Bren Hall
Irvine, CA   92697-1250
United States
Phone: (949) 824-0649
jutts@uci.edu

Awards Council Liaison
2017 - 2017
Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)
 

Ntiranyuhura, Thierryne
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
Thierryne@amstat.org

Staff Liaison
2016 - 2020
 
 

Return to List of Committees.