Committee Details

Waller Awards

Visit the Waller Awards home page


    To select a recipient for the Waller Education Award and Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award each year.

    The Waller Education Award

    Nominees should be early in their career, with 10 or fewer years of full-time teaching and responsibility for teaching the first course in statistics in a two- or four-year college or research university. Graduate teaching assistants are eligible for nomination. The recipient will be selected according to the following criteria:

  • Commitment to teaching elementary statistics
  • Demonstrated innovation in teaching elementary statistics
  • Letters of support from students, colleagues, and supervisors
  • Broader impact of the nominee on statistical education beyond the nominee's institution

  • The Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award

    The Waller Distinguished Teaching Career Award is to recognize an individual for sustained performance of excellence in teaching and statistics education. Nominees must have 20 or more years of statistics teaching experience. The recipient will be selected according to the following criteria:

  • Excellence in teaching across a variety of statistics courses
  • Innovation, scholarship, and creative efforts in education
  • Impact in statistics education beyond the nominee's institution
  • Nominees who are currently active in teaching and education-related scholarship will receive stronger consideration from the selection committee.

    Composition: The committee consists of six members, two of whom will be appointed/reappointed each year for three-year terms by the president-elect. One member is appointed (when necessary) by the president-elect to serve as chair. Each committee member should have an active interest in improving the teaching and/or learning of statistics.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Bradley A. Hartlaub


The Waller Awards has 6 member(s), and 2 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Hartlaub, Bradley A.
Kenyon College
708 Maplerun Lane
Westerville, OH   43081
United States
Phone: (740) 427-5405
Fax: (740) 427-5573
Chair (2014 - 2018)
Cannon, Ann R.
Cornell College
Department of Mathematics
600 1st St. W
Mount Vernon, IA   52314-1006
United States
Phone: (319) 895-4461
Fax: (319) 895-4478
Member (2014 - 2019)
Chang, Chung-Chou H.
Univ of Pittsburgh
Dept of Medicine
200 Meyran Ave., Suite 200
Pittsburgh, PA   15213-4901
United States
Phone: (412) 692-4868
Fax: (412) 246-6954
Member (2014 - 2019)
Fosdick, Bailey Kathryn
Colorado State University
Statistics Department
102 Statistics Building
Fort Collins, CO   80523-1877
United States
Phone: (970) 491-5530
Member (2015 - 2020)
Froelich, Amy G.
Iowa State University
2438 Osborn Drive
3109 Snedecor Hall
Ames, IA   50011-1210
United States
Phone: (515) 294-5584
Fax: (515) 294-4040
Member (2013 - 2018)
Malone, Christopher J.
Winona State University
Gild 322
P.O. Box 5838
Winona, MN   55987
United States
Phone: (507) 457-2989
Fax: (507) 457-5376
Member (2018 - 2020)

Nussbaum, Barry D.
7804 Antiopi Street
Annandale, VA   22003-1405
United States
Phone: (703) 560-4767

Awards Council Liaison
2018 - 2018
Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)

Henry, Elizabeth
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221

Staff Liaison
2018 - 2020

Return to List of Committees.