Committee Details

Noether Awards Committee

Visit the Noether Awards Committee home page


To select two Noether Awards each year. One award (Noether Scholar Award) will be for a recognized scholar who has made outstanding contributions to nonparametric statistics in research and/or teaching. The second award (Noether Developing Scholar Award) will be for a researcher under the age of 35 years who has demonstrated interest and achievements in nonparametric statistics in research or teaching.

The Noether Scholar Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the methodology and/or theory of nonparametric statistics that have had substantial, sustained impact on the subject, its practical applications and its pedagogy.

The Noether Young Scholar is selected based on significant accomplishments in nonparametric statistics, interpreted broadly to include theory, methodology, and outstanding applications. Eligibility for this award is for those who obtained their PhD degree or an equivalent degree in the past six years.

To be eligible candidates should be involved in nonparametric methodology, either theoretical or applied.

Composition: The committee has nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three-year terms. One member is also appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as Chair. The Chair of the Section on Non-parametric Statistics will also serve as an ex-officio member.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Dr. Edsel A. Pena


The Noether Awards Committee has 9 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Pena, Edsel A.
University of South Carolina
Department of Statistics
LeConte College
Columbia, SC   29208
United States
Phone: (803) 576-5813
Fax: (803) 777-4048
Chair (2016 - 2017)
Carroll, Raymond J.
Texas A & M University
Department of Statistics
Blocker Building-Rm 447
College Station, TX   77843-3143
United States
Phone: (979) 845-3141
Fax: (979) 845-3144
Member (2016 - 2017)
Fernholz, Luisa T.
Minerva Research Foundation
United States
Phone: (609)924-4983
Member (2014 - 2019)
Jin, Jiashun
133 Gilda Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA   15217-3122
United States
Member (2017 - 2019)
Lin, Xihong
Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health
655 Huntington Avenue
Building II, 4th Fl, Dept of Statistics
Boston, MA   02115
United States
Phone: (617) 432-2914
Fax: (617) 432-5619
Member (2015 - 2020)
Murphy, Susan A.
Harvard University
Science Center 400 Suite
One Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA   02138-2901
United States
Phone: (617) 495-5496
Fax: (734) 763-4676
Member (2015 - 2017)
Sarkar, Sanat K.
Temple University
Fox School of Business
1810 N 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA   19122-6012
United States
Phone: (215) 204-6878
Fax: (215) 204-1501
Member (2013 - 2018)
Yao, Fang
University of Toronto
Department of Statistical Sciences
100 St. George Street
Toronto, ON   M5S 3G3
Phone: (416) 946-5970
Member (2014 - 2019)
Zeng, Donglin
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC   27599-7420
United States
Member (2014 - 2019)

Lazar, Nicole
University of Georgia
Department of Statistics
Athens, GA   30602
United States
Phone: (706) 542-0632

Awards Council Liaison
2012 - 2017
Awards Council Vice Chair

Utts, Jessica M.
University of California
Department of Statistics
Donald Bren Hall
Irvine, CA   92697-1250
United States
Phone: (949) 824-0649

Awards Council Liaison
2017 - 2017
Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)

Ntiranyuhura, Thierryne
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221

Staff Liaison
2016 - 2020

Return to List of Committees.