Committee Details

ASA/AMATYC Joint Committee

Charge:

- To improve the quality of statistics education in two-year colleges by planning workshops, conference presentations, and other effective forms of professional development for two-year college statistics instructors.

- To promote consistency and transferability between statistics courses offered at two-year and four-year colleges.

- To communicate with two and four-year colleges relative to the statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers.

- To communicate with K-12 mathematics educators to address the effect of pre-college statistical education on statistics courses taught in two-year colleges.

- To ensure ongoing communication between AMATYC and the ASA with the objective of identifying changing trends in undergraduate statistics education.

Composition

The Joint ASA/AMATYC Committee is composed of three appointed members from the ASA (American Statistical Association) and three from the AMATYC (American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges). The term of appointment as a committee member is three years. The Chair is a member of the committee and serves for two years, with the position rotating between ASA and AMATYC.


Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Mary DeHart

Membership

The ASA/AMATYC Joint Committee has 6 member(s), and 4 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

 
DeHart, Mary
Sussex County Community College
One College Hill Rd
Newton, NJ   07860
United States
Phone: (973) 300-2341
mdehart@sussex.edu
Chair (2018 - 2019)
AMATYC Appointed Chair
 
DeHart, Mary
Sussex County Community College
One College Hill Rd
Newton, NJ   07860
United States
Phone: (973) 300-2341
mdehart@sussex.edu
AMATYC Member (2013 - 2020)
 
Gould, Robert L.
3645 Westwood Blvd.
Apt. 204
Los Angeles, CA   90034
Phone: (310) 206-3381
Fax: (310) 206-5658
rgould@stat.ucla.edu
ASA Member (2018 - 2018)
 
Hanson, Julie R.
Clinton Community College
136 Clinton Point Drive
Plattsburgh, NY   12901-6002
Phone: (518) 562-4394
julie.hanson@clinton.edu
AMATYC Member (2013 - 2019)
 
Moynihan, Mary
Cape Cod Community College
2240 Iyannough Road-SC-205
Department of Mathematics
West Barnstable, MA   02668
United States
Phone: (508) 362-2131 x 4471
mmoynihan@capecod.edu
AMATYC Member (2013 - 2018)
 
Pogoda, Wendy Amanda
Hillsborough Community College
5404 Sandy Shell Drive
Apollo Beach, FL   33572
wpogoda@hccfl.edu
ASA Member (2014 - 2019)
 
Wong, Rebecca
4122 Cranford Circle
San Jose, CA   95124
United States
Phone: (408) 421-3904
rebecca.wong@westvalley.edu
ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
 

Monti, Katherine L.
2820 Stoney Creek Dr
Elgin, IL   60124
United States
Phone: (617) 721-1405
kmonti729@gmail.com

Education Council Liaison
2018 - 2020
Education Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
 

Perrett, Jamis
Monsanto Company
15360 Country Ridge Drive
Chesterfield, MO   63017
United States
Phone: (314) 527-9403
jamis@monsanto.com

Education Council Liaison
2018 - 2020
Education Council Vice Chair
 

LaLonde, Donna
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
donnal@amstat.org

Staff Liaison
2015 - 2020
 

Nichols, Rebecca
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221
rebecca@amstat.org

Staff Liaison
2013 - 2020
 
 

Return to List of Committees.