Committee Details

ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics

Charge:

  • To stimulate effective change in undergraduate statistical education, especially in the majority of institutions where the department of mathematics bears primary responsibility for the teaching of statistics. The Committee should examine and make recommendations concerning:
  • Individual course offerings
  • Teaching practices
  • Faculty qualifications
  • Course sequences in support of various options
  • Use of technology in undergraduate statistics courses
  • Connections with other departments that use or teach statistics
  • Statistics requirements for undergraduate majors
  • Statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers
  • Impact on undergraduate curricula of improvements in pre-college statistical education
  • Composition: The Committee is composed of 12 members, six to be appointed by the ASA and six to be appointed by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Two members will be appointed/reappointed by each organization each year for three year terms. The Chair is a member of the Committee and serves for two years. The Chair is alternately appointed by the ASA and MAA.


    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Roger D. Woodard

    Membership

    The ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics has 13 member(s), and 2 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


    Name

    Position/Term

     
    Woodard, Roger D.
    University of Notre Dame
    153 Hurley Hall
    Notre Dame, IN   46556-5629
    United States
    Phone: (919) 924-6398
    roger_woodard@nd.edu
    Chair (2017 - 2018)
     
    Bates, Rachel
    Redlands Community College
    1300 South Country Club Rd
    El Reno, OK   73036-5304
    United States
    Phone: (405) 422-1244
    rachel.bates@redlandscc.edu
    MAA Member (2016 - 2020)
     
    Bray, Andrew Paul
    Reed College
    3203 SE Woodstock Blvd.
    Portland, OR   97202
    United States
    Phone: (760) 519-5979
    abray@reed.edu
    ASA Member (2017 - 2019)
     
    Canner, Judith E.
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Cuff, Carolyn K.
    Westminster College
    Hoyt Science Center
    New Wilmington, PA   16172-0001
    United States
    Phone: (724) 946-7291
    Fax: (724) 946-7158
    ccuff@westminster.edu
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Frazier, Marian L.
    College of Wooster
    Department of Math and CS
    Wooster, OH   44691
    mafrazier@wooster.edu
    ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Kaplan, Daniel
    Macalester College
    Math and Computer Science
    1600 Grand Avenue
    Saint Paul, MN   55105-1801
    United States
    Phone: (651) 696-6599
    Fax: (651) 696-6518
    kaplan@macalester.edu
    MAA Member (2016 - 2019)
     
    Lock Morgan, Kari
    Penn State University
    325 Thomas
    University Park, PA   16802
    United States
    Phone: (814) 865-3134
    Fax: (919) 684-8594
    klm47@psu.edu
    ASA Member (2016 - 2021)
     
    Lock, Patti Frazer
    St. Lawrence University
    P.O. Box 85
    24 Coney Island Drive
    Hannawa Falls, NY   13647
    United States
    Phone: (315) 229-5292
    Fax: (315) 229-7413
    plock@stlawu.edu
    ASA Member (2016 - 2021)
     
    Malone, Christopher J.
    Winona State University
    Gild 322
    P.O. Box 5838
    Winona, MN   55987
    United States
    Phone: (507) 457-2989
    Fax: (507) 457-5376
    cmalone@winona.edu
    ASA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Mazur, Kristen
    Elon University
    ,   
    kmazur@elon.edu
    MAA Member (2018 - 2020)
     
    Posner, Michael A.
    Villanova University
    Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
    800 Lancaster Ave.
    Villanova, PA   19085
    United States
    Phone: (610) 519-3016
    Fax: (610) 519-6928
    michael.posner@villanova.edu
    MAA Member (2012 - 2018)
     
    Reyes, Eric
    Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
    reyesem@rose-hulman.edu
    MAA Member (2016 - 2019)
     

    LaLonde, Donna
    American Statistical Association
    732 North Washington St
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221
    donnal@amstat.org

    Staff Liaison
    2018 - 2020
     

    Nichols, Rebecca
    American Statistical Association
    732 North Washington St
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221
    rebecca@amstat.org

    Staff Liaison
    2011 - 2020
     
     

    Return to List of Committees.