Committee Details

ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics

Charge:

  • To stimulate effective change in undergraduate statistical education, especially in the majority of institutions where the department of mathematics bears primary responsibility for the teaching of statistics. The Committee should examine and make recommendations concerning:
  • Individual course offerings
  • Teaching practices
  • Faculty qualifications
  • Course sequences in support of various options
  • Use of technology in undergraduate statistics courses
  • Connections with other departments that use or teach statistics
  • Statistics requirements for undergraduate majors
  • Statistical preparation of elementary and secondary teachers
  • Impact on undergraduate curricula of improvements in pre-college statistical education
  • Composition: The Committee is composed of 12 members, six to be appointed by the ASA and six to be appointed by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). Two members will be appointed/reappointed by each organization each year for three year terms. The Chair is a member of the Committee and serves for two years. The Chair is alternately appointed by the ASA and MAA.


    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Roger D. Woodard

    Membership

    The ASA/MAA Joint Comm on Undergraduate Statistics has 11 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


    Name

    Position/Term

     
    Woodard, Roger D.
    University of Notre Dame
    153 Hurley Hall
    Notre Dame, IN   46556-5629
    United States
    Phone: (919) 924-6398
    roger_woodard@nd.edu
    Chair (2017 - 2018)
    ASA Appointed Chair
     
    Bates, Rachel
    1529 18th St NW
    Washington, DC   20036
    United States
    rbates@watc.edu
    MAA Member (2016 - 2020)
     
    Bray, Andrew Paul
    Reed College
    3203 SE Woodstock Blvd.
    Portland, OR   97202
    United States
    Phone: (760) 519-5979
    abray@reed.edu
    ASA Member (2017 - 2019)
     
    Chihara, Laura M.
    Carleton College
    Dept of Mathematics
    One North College St
    Northfield, MN   55057-4001
    United States
    Phone: (507) 222-4065
    lchihara@carleton.edu
    ASA Member (2012 - 2017)
     
    Kaplan, Daniel
    Macalester College
    Math and Computer Science
    1600 Grand Avenue
    Saint Paul, MN   55105-1801
    United States
    Phone: (651) 696-6599
    Fax: (651) 696-6518
    kaplan@macalester.edu
    MAA Member (2016 - 2019)
     
    Lock Morgan, Kari
    Penn State University
    325 Thomas
    University Park, PA   16802
    United States
    Phone: (814) 865-3134
    Fax: (919) 684-8594
    klm47@psu.edu
    ASA Member (2016 - 2018)
     
    Lock, Patti Frazer
    St. Lawrence University
    Dept of Math CS Stat
    23 Romoda Drive
    Canton, NY   13617
    United States
    Phone: (315) 229-5292
    Fax: (315) 229-7413
    plock@stlawu.edu
    ASA Member (2016 - 2018)
     
    Posner, Michael A.
    Villanova University
    Dept of Mathematics and Statistics
    800 Lancaster Ave.
    Villanova, PA   19085
    United States
    Phone: (610) 519-3016
    Fax: (610) 519-6928
    michael.posner@villanova.edu
    MAA Member (2012 - 2018)
     
    Pruim, Randall
    Calvin College
    Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics
    1740 Knollcrest Circle SE
    Grand Rapids, MI   49546
    United States
    Phone: (616) 526-7113
    Fax: (616) 526-6501
    rpruim@calvin.edu
    MAA Member (2015 - 2018)
     
    Reyes, Eric
    MAA Member (2016 - 2019)
     
    Scott, James C.
    Colby College
    5837 Mayflower Hill Drive
    Waterville, ME   04901
    United States
    Phone: (207) 859-5837
    jcscott@colby.edu
    ASA Member (2012 - 2017)
     

    Peck, Roxy L.
    Cal Poly
    P.O. Box 7088
    Los Osos, CA   93412-7088
    United States
    Phone: (805) 528-2966
    rpeck@calpoly.edu

    Education Council Liaison
    2010 - 2017
    Education Council Vice Chair
     

    Santos, Robert L.
    The Urban Institute
    6545 Tasajillo Trl
    Austin, TX   78739-1481
    United States
    Phone: (202) 261-5904
    rsantos@urban.org

    Education Council Liaison
    2016 - 2017
    Education Council Chair (ASA Vice President)
     

    Nichols, Rebecca
    American Statistical Association
    732 North Washington St
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221
    rebecca@amstat.org

    Staff Liaison
    2011 - 2017
     
     

    Return to List of Committees.