Committee Details

Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award

Visit the Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award home page


To encourage and recognize members of the communications media who have best displayed an informed interest in the science of statistics and its role in public life. The award can be given for a single statistical presentation or for sustained worthy contributions, as would clearly be a credit to the statistical profession.

Consideration shall be given to:

- Correctness, clarity, fairness, brevity, and professionalism of the communications
- Importance, relevance and overall effectiveness in impacting the intended audience
- Impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of statistics
- Appreciation and emphasis of the statistical aspects of a particular issue or event
- Excellent coverage of research on statistics or statistical issues

Composition: The committee is composed of six members, two of whom are appointed/reappointed to the Committee by the President Elect each year for three year terms. The President Elect will also appoint (when necessary) a member of the committee to serve as the Chair.

The Chair will assign two of the other members to coordinate the nominations and selection procedure and the other three to coordinate publicity and award presentation. The committee will also carry over strong nominations from one year to the next to help maintain a strong pool of candidates for the award. All members of the committee can make and vote on nominations for the award.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Alan R. Tupek


The Excellence in Statistical Reporting Award has 6 member(s), and 2 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Tupek, Alan R.
6806 Newport Lake Circle
Boca Raton, FL   33496
United States
Phone: (240) 277-2370
Fax: (410) 312-8614
Chair (2017 - 2018)
Choi, Jai Won
9504 Mary Knoll Drive
Rockville, MD   20850
United States
Phone: (706) 721-4454
Fax: (706) 721-6294
Member (2013 - 2018)
Clark, B. Christine
185 Holly Hills Road
Greenville, NC   27858
United States
Phone: (215) 815-5646
Member (2016 - 2018)
Gupta, Sat N.
University of North Carolina At Greensboro
Dept. of Mathematics and Statistics
126 Petty Building
Greensboro, NC   27412
United States
Phone: (336) 554-4608
Fax: (336) 334-5949
Member (2017 - 2019)
Ryberg, Karen R.
U.S. Geological Survey
Member (2017 - 2020)
Tupek, Alan R.
6806 Newport Lake Circle
Boca Raton, FL   33496
United States
Phone: (240) 277-2370
Fax: (410) 312-8614
Member (2015 - 2020)
Xue, Lan
Oregon State University
4665 NW Rosemarie Pl
Corvallis, OR   97330-3120
United States
Phone: (541) 210-4237
Member (2017 - 2019)

Nussbaum, Barry D.
7804 Antiopi Street
Annandale, VA   22003-1405
United States
Phone: (703) 560-4767

Awards Council Liaison
2018 - 2018
Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)

Henry, Elizabeth
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington St
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 684-1221

Staff Liaison
2018 - 2020

Return to List of Committees.