Committee Details

Founders Award Committee

Visit the Founders Award Committee home page


  • This award is presented annually for distinguished service to the American Statistical Association. Selection criteria include service over an extended period of time and in a variety of leadership roles, including, but not limited to, chapter, section, committee, officer or editorial activities, wherein effective service or leadership was provided within ASA or on behalf of ASA to other organizations. The award is the highest level award ASA can give. Typically, no more than two awards are granted each year; however, when warranted, up to five awards may be granted in a given year. No one can be selected for the award while a member of the selection committee or on the Board of Directors.
  • Composition: The Committee consists of the Past President of ASA, who chairs the Committee, a representative from the Council of Sections, a representative from the Council of Chapters, and the Editorial Representative to the Board. The Section and Chapter Representatives serve two-year terms, with one being appointed each year to provide overlapping terms. The Executive Director is an ex officio member.

    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Barry D. Nussbaum


    The Founders Award Committee has 5 member(s), and 1 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



    Nussbaum, Barry D.
    7804 Antiopi Street
    Annandale, VA   22003-1405
    United States
    Phone: (703) 560-4767
    Fax: (703) 560-4767
    Chair (2018 - 2018)
    Cochran, James J.
    University of Alabama
    The Culverhouse College of Commerce
    347 Alston Hall, Box 870226
    Tuscaloosa, AL   35487-0226
    United States
    Phone: (205) 348-8914
    Fax: (318) 257-4352
    Council of Sections Representative (2018 - 2019)
    Evans, Scott R.
    6110 Executive Blvd
    Suite 750
    Rockville, MD   20852
    United States
    Phone: (301) 881-9260
    Fax: (301) 881-3742
    Publication Rep to the Board (2018 - 2020)
    Messina, Marianne E.
    78 Lydale Place
    Meriden, CT   06450-6125
    United States
    Council of Chapters Representative (2018 - 2019)
    Wasserstein, Ronald L.
    American Statistical Association
    732 N Washington Street
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221 x1860
    Fax: (703) 684-3768
    Member Ex-Officio (2007 - 2020)

    Nussbaum, Barry D.
    7804 Antiopi Street
    Annandale, VA   22003-1405
    United States
    Phone: (703) 560-4767

    Awards Council Liaison
    2018 - 2018
    Awards Council Chair (ASA Past President)

    Return to List of Committees.