Committee Details

Advisory Committee on Forensic Science

Charge:

To advise the ASA on forensic science reform issues and to ensure that statistics and statisticians maintain a visible profile in the forensic sciences and forensic science reform.

Composition: The committee has nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the ASA President Elect for three year terms. One of the members is appointed (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as the Chair.


Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Karen Kafadar

Membership

The Advisory Committee on Forensic Science has 9 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   


Name

Position/Term

 
Kafadar, Karen
University of Virginia
Department of Statistics
Halsey Hall, P.O. Box 400135
Charlottesville, VA   22904-4135
United States
Phone: (434) 924-3096
Fax: (434) 924-3076
kkafadar@virginia.edu
Chair (2015 - 2019)
 
Stern, Hal S.
University of California, Irvine
Dept. of Statistics
Irvine, CA   92697-1250
United States
Phone: (949) 824-1568
sternh@uci.edu
Vice-Chair (2015 - 2019)
 
Curran, James M.
University of Auckland
Dept. of Statistics
Private Bag 92019
Auckland,    1010
New Zealand
Phone: +64-9-3737-599 x 88755
Fax: +64-9-3737-018
curran@stat.auckland.ac.nz
Member (2015 - 2019)
 
Lancaster, Mark
Northern Kentucky University
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
MEP Building, Room 418
Highland Heights, KY   41099
United States
Phone: (859) 572-1343
lancasterm1@nku.edu
Member (2015 - 2020)
 
Miao, Weiwen
Haverford College
370 Lancaster Ave.
Mathematics and Statistics
Haverford, PA   19041-1392
United States
Phone: (610) 896-1207
Fax: (610) 896-4963
wmiao@haverford.edu
Member (2015 - 2017)
 
Neumann, Cedric
South Dakota State University
252 SAME Building
Brookings, SD   57007
United States
Phone: (415) 272-6752
cedric.neumann@sdstate.edu
Member (2015 - 2020)
 
Saunders, Christopher P.
South Dakota State University
271 Indian Hills Road
Brookings, SD   57006
United States
Phone: (605) 688-5847
saundersnecessary@gmail.com
Member (2015 - 2018)
 
Stern, Hal S.
University of California, Irvine
Dept. of Statistics
Irvine, CA   92697-1250
United States
Phone: (949) 824-1568
sternh@uci.edu
Member (2015 - 2019)
 
Weir, Bruce S.
University of Washington
Dept. of Biostatistics
Box 357232
Seattle, WA   98195-7232
United States
Phone: (206) 221-7497
Fax: (206) 543-3286
bsweir@uw.edu
Member (2015 - 2018)
 
Zabell, Sandy L.
Northwestern University
2006 Sheridan Road
Evanston, IL   60208-0852
United States
Phone: (847) 491-5752
Fax: (847) 491-4939
zabell@math.northwestern.edu
Member (2015 - 2018)
 

Ensor, Katherine B.
Rice University
Dept. of Statistics
6100 Main St., MS 138
Houston, TX   77251-1827
United States
Phone: (713) 348-4687
kathy.bennett.ensor@gmail.com

Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2016 - 2018
Chair, Professional Issues & Visibility Council (ASA Vice President)
 

Marker, David A.
Westat
1600 Research Blvd.
Rockville, MD   20850-3195
United States
Phone: (301) 251-4398
davidmarker@westat.com

Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2016 - 2018
Vice Chair, Professional Issues & Visibility Council
 

Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841
pierson@amstat.org

Staff Liaison
2015 - 2018
 
 

Return to List of Committees.