Committee Details

Executive Committee


  • The Executive Committee has the power to nominate the Executive Director and the Treasurer, and to refer these nominations to the Board of Directors for action, and to recommend to the Board of Directors policies and actions that promote the welfare of the statistical profession. It also has to evaluate an annual budget to submit it for approval or modification to the Board of Directors. The Executive Committee has to discharge such other responsibilities as the Board of Directors may assign to it.
  • The Executive Committee is empowered to act for the Board of Directors when action is required, a mail ballot is not feasible, and in the judgment of the President such action is necessary. An affirmative vote of all but one of the Executive Committee members is required for this procedure. The Board of Directors has to send notification within seven days of such an action. This notification has to explain the urgency of the action.
  • The powers of the Executive Committee are limited according to Chapter 156B, Section 55, of the Massachusetts Business Corporation Law.
  • Composition: The Executive Committee is composed of the President, the President-Elect, the Past President, senior Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Secretary and Treasurer are ex officio members without vote.

    Last review effective January 1999 in accordance with the 1999 ASA Constitution and By-laws

    Questions? Want to get involved? Contact


    The Executive Committee has 6 member(s), and 0 liaison(s).

    To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



    LaVange, Lisa M.
    123 West Franklin St.
    Suite 450
    Chapel Hill, NC   27514
    United States
    Phone: (919) 962-2190
    President (2018 - 2018)
    Kafadar, Karen
    University of Virginia
    Department of Statistics
    Halsey Hall, P.O. Box 400135
    Charlottesville, VA   22904-4135
    United States
    Phone: (434) 924-3096
    Fax: (434) 924-3076
    President-Elect (2018 - 2018)
    Nussbaum, Barry D.
    7804 Antiopi Street
    Annandale, VA   22003-1405
    United States
    Phone: (703) 560-4767
    Fax: (703) 560-4767
    Past President (2018 - 2018)
    Ensor, Katherine B.
    Rice University
    Dept. of Statistics
    6100 Main St., MS 138
    Houston, TX   77251-1827
    United States
    Phone: (713) 348-4687
    Fax: (713) 348 -5476
    Member (2018 - 2018)
    Kaur, Amarjot
    Merck & Co., Inc.
    126 E Lincoln Avenue
    P.O. Box 2000, MS RY34-A318
    Rahway, NJ   07065
    United States
    Phone: (732) 594-4696
    Fax: (732) 594-6075
    Treasurer (2017 - 2019)
    Wasserstein, Ronald L.
    American Statistical Association
    732 N Washington Street
    Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
    United States
    Phone: (703) 684-1221 x1860
    Fax: (703) 684-3768
    Secretary (2008 - 2020)

    Return to List of Committees.