Committee Details

ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy

Visit the ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy home page


Inform Congress, the public, and others on climate change science. The committee shall meet this charge by regular contact - including materials - with Congressional staff and federal employees on the science of climate change and its impacts. It will seek requests from congressional staff for statisticians’ perspective on aspects of the science of climate change and its impacts. The committee will collaborate with scientists from other disciplines on this charge through contact with other professional societies and science organizations. The committee will also relate its experiences to ASA membership so that other statisticians might benefit from the committee’s study of how statisticians can inform Congress and the public.

Composition: The committee has nine members, three of whom are appointed/reappointed each year by the President Elect for three year terms. One of the members is also chosen (when necessary) by the President Elect to serve as the Chair. The ASA director of science policy will serve as staff liaison for the committee.

Questions? Want to get involved? Contact Daniel S. Cooley


The ASA Advisory Committee on Climate Change Policy has 9 member(s), and 3 liaison(s).

To change the viewing year, choose from the following years:   



Cooley, Daniel S.
Colorado State University
Department of Statistics
Campus Route 1877
Fort Collins, CO   80523-1877
United States
Phone: (970) 491-5721
Fax: (970) 491-7895
Chair (2017 - 2018)
Hammerling, Dorit
1850 Table Mesa Drive
Boulder, CO   80305
United States
Phone: (919) 685-9335
Vice-Chair (2017 - 2018)
Bloomfield, Peter
N. Carolina State Univ., Raleigh
Department of Statistics
Box 8203
Raleigh, NC   27695-8203
United States
Phone: (919) 515-1913
Fax: (919) 515-1169
Member (2017 - 2019)
Bravo de Guenni, Lelys Isaura
Universidad Simon Bolivar
Dept. Computo Cientifico Y Estadistica
Valle De Sartenejas, Baruta, Edo. Mirand
Caracas 1080-A,   
Phone: 0058 2129063233
Fax: 0058 212 9063234
Member (2015 - 2020)
Li, Bo
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
725 S Wright St
Department of Statistics
Champaign, IL   61820
United States
Phone: (217) 333-2167
Member (2015 - 2020)
Reich, Brian J.
University of Minnesota
A460 Mayo Bldg.
420 Delaware St. SE
Minneapolis, MN   55455
United States
Phone: (612) 624-7672
Member (2018 - 2020)
Sain, Stephan R.
1875 Keota Ln
Superior, CO   80027
United States
Phone: (720) 810 0350
Member (2017 - 2019)
Stein, Michael L.
University of Chicago
Department of Statistics
5747 S Ellis Ave., Jones
Chicago, IL   60637
United States
Phone: (773) 702-8326
Fax: (773) 702-9810
Member (2013 - 2018)
Wikle, Christopher K.
Univ of Missouri - Columbia
Dept of Statistics
146 Middlebush Hall
Columbia, MO   65211-6100
United States
Phone: (573) 882-9659
Fax: (573) 884-5524
Member (2017 - 2019)

Ensor, Katherine B.
Rice University
Dept. of Statistics
6100 Main St., MS 138
Houston, TX   77251-1827
United States
Phone: (713) 348-4687

Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2016 - 2018
Chair, Professional Issues and Visibility Council (ASA Vice President)

Marker, David A.
1600 Research Blvd.
Rockville, MD   20850-3195
United States
Phone: (301) 251-4398

Professional Issues & Visibility Council Liaison
2016 - 2018
Professional Issues & Visibility Council Vice Chair

Pierson, Steve
American Statistical Association
732 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA   22314-1943
United States
Phone: (703) 302-1841

Staff Liaison
2009 - 2020

Return to List of Committees.