JSM 2012 Home

JSM 2012 Online Program

The views expressed here are those of the individual authors and not necessarily those of the JSM sponsors, their officers, or their staff.

Online Program Home

Abstract Details

Activity Number: 253
Type: Contributed
Date/Time: Monday, July 30, 2012 : 2:00 PM to 3:50 PM
Sponsor: Biometrics Section
Abstract - #304690
Title: Sample size calculation for survival time data in cluster randomized trials using the NIATx 200 trial design as an example
Author(s): Antje Jahn-Eimermacher*+ and Jim Robinson and Andrew Quanbeck and Dennis McCarty
Companies: University Medical Center, Mainz and University of Wisconsin-Madison and University of Wisconsin-Madison and Oregon Health and Science University
Address: Lanzelhohl 35, Mainz 55128, , Germany
Keywords: sample size ; cluster randomized ; survival ; time to event

In several trials with a time to event endpoint, the interventions to be compared are randomized not to individuals but to groups of individuals (clusters), which might be patients of the same hospital. One example is the NIATx 200 trial, a cluster randomized trial investigating methods of disseminating quality improvement to addiction treatment centers in the U.S.. One of the primary endpoints to be compared between the different interventions is the time patients have to wait for their first treatment. Members of the same cluster tend to be more similar than members of different clusters causing intra-cluster correlation. Correlation affects the power of a trial and thus has to be considered when planning the sample size. We illustrate how to plan the sample size for clustered time to event data using the NIATx 200 trial as an example.

The address information is for the authors that have a + after their name.
Authors who are presenting talks have a * after their name.

Back to the full JSM 2012 program

2012 JSM Online Program Home

For information, contact jsm@amstat.org or phone (888) 231-3473.

If you have questions about the Continuing Education program, please contact the Education Department.