JSM Preliminary Online Program
This is the preliminary program for the 2009 Joint Statistical Meetings in Washington, DC.

The views expressed here are those of the individual authors
and not necessarily those of the ASA or its board, officers, or staff.

Back to main JSM 2009 Program page

View My Program  /  View My Program (condensed)  /  What is My Program?

Activity Number: 367
Type: Contributed
Date/Time: Tuesday, August 4, 2009 : 2:00 PM to 3:50 PM
Sponsor: Section on Statistical Education
Abstract - #304438
Title: Moment-Generating Functions for Tenable Two-Label Polya Urns
Author(s): Kyle Whittaker*+ and Katharine Gurski
Companies: The George Washington University and Howard University
Address: Department of Mathematics, Washington, DC, 20052,
Keywords: Polya ; urn ; sampling ; moment generating ; ehrenfest

We consider a Polya urn model with two labels, a model which corresponds to sampling methods and many classical probability problems. Keeping in mind that the key interest is the composition of the urns and the stochastic path leading to this long term description, we find moment generating functions for special cases of urn processes that fall into the categories of the forward and backward diagonal urns, Friedman's urn, Bagchi-Pal's urn, the generalized Ehrenfest urn, and Smythe's urn. We present these results and give the restrictions of the values of the urn repopulation rules to find these solutions and to guarantee tenability for negative values. For the generalized Ehrenfest urn and Smythe's urn, which have some negative repopulation values, we present the necessary conditions and examples for the initial urn populations and replacement schemes for tenable schemes.

  • The address information is for the authors that have a + after their name.
  • Authors who are presenting talks have a * after their name.

Back to the full JSM 2009 program

JSM 2009 For information, contact jsm@amstat.org or phone (888) 231-3473. If you have questions about the Continuing Education program, please contact the Education Department.
Revised September, 2008